

Vol. 657

March 10 2020 Maart

No. 43083

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes



AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

# **IMPORTANT NOTICE:**

THE GOVERNMENT PRINTING WORKS WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ERRORS THAT MIGHT OCCUR DUE TO THE SUBMISSION OF INCOMPLETE / INCORRECT / ILLEGIBLE COPY.

No future queries will be handled in connection with the above.

### Contents

		Gazette	Page
No.		No.	No.
	Proclamations • Proklamasies		
13	Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996: Establishment of the National Security Council	43083	3

# PROCLAMATIONS • PROKLAMASIES

#### **PROCLAMATION NO. 13 OF 2020**

# By the

## President of the Republic of South Africa

- 1. Establishment of the National Security Council
- 1.1 Subject to section 101(1) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, I hereby, establish the National Security Council (the NSC) as follows:
- 2. Composition
- 2.1 The NSC shall consist of the following members of the National Executive:
  - a) The President (Chairperson);
  - b) The Deputy President;
  - c) Minister of Defence and Military Veterans;
  - d) Minister of State Security;
  - e) Minister of Police;
  - f) Minister of International Relations and Cooperation;
  - g) Minister of Home Affairs;
  - h) Minister of Finance;
  - i) Minister of Justice and Correctional Services; and
  - j) Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.
- 2.2 The President may co-opt any other Minister on an ad hoc basis as the need arises.

# 3. The South African National Security Secretariat

- 3.1 The NSC is supported by the South African National Security Secretariat (SANSS) that has both coordinating and administrative support functions.
- 3.2 The SANSS is comprise of the following members:
- a) DG: The Presidency (Secretary of the NSC and Head of the SANSS)
- b) Security Advisor to the President (ex officio)
- c) Coordinator for Intelligence (NICOC)
- d) DG: SSA (in future, Heads of the Domestic and Foreign Branches)
- e) DG: DIRCO
- f) DG: Home Affairs
- g) DG: Justice and Constitutional Development
- h) DG: Cooperative Governance
- i) DG: National Treasury
- i) Chief: SANDF
- k) Secretary for Defence

## 4. MANDATE

- 4.1 The National Security Council (NSC) is a structure at the level of the National Executive responsible for ensuring the national security of the Republic of South Africa.
- 4.2 The NSC is responsible for the approval of the National Security Strategy, the National Intelligence Estimate and National Intelligence Priorities; the coordination of the work of the security services, law enforcement agencies and relevant organs of state to ensure national security; receiving coordinated, integrated intelligence assessments from the national security structures of the Republic; and for mandating said structures to attend to matters of national security as required.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of South Africa at CAPE TOWM on this 27, day of FERLURRY. Two Thousand and Twenty.

PRESIDENT

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Contact Centre Tel: 012-748 6200. eMail: info.egazette@gpw.gov.za Publications: Tel: (012) 748 6053, 748 6061, 748 6065