The Government has amended the list of high risk countries based on a risk categorisation model.

We are constantly being reminded that the Covid-19 pandemic still remains with us and we have to continue to take precautions. In its most recent meeting, the Cabinet ordered the Ministers of Health, Home Affairs and Tourism to lead a procedure to review the list. The evaluation of the list of high-risk countries was carried out in such a way that to strike a balance between saving lives as well as safeguarding livelihoods.

Nothing has been altered as far as all travellers from the continent of Africa are involved. They are still welcome to visit South Africa subject to Covid-19 protocols.

People from high-risk countries who may visit South Africa fall in the following categories: business travellers, holders of critical skills visas, investors as well as individuals on international mission in sports, arts, culture and science.

We also recognise that there are a number of regular visitors – mainly from European countries – who have become accustomed to long periods of visitation to our country during our summer season when it is winter in the northern hemisphere.

Many of them own properties in the country. We are grateful for the considerable economic contribution that they make through their activities in the country. For this purpose, government will also allow visitors, in whichever category, who are coming to stay for a three-months period or more subject to Covid-19 protocols.

Individuals who need to apply must send email requests to [email protected], supported by—

(a) a copy of their passport and/or temporary residence visa;
(b) evidence of business activities to be undertaken in the Republic of South Africa;
(c) evidenceof travel itinerary; as well as
(d) proof of address or accommodation in the Republic of South Africa.

The latest list of high-risk countries is:

• Argentina
• Germany
• Peru
• Bangladesh
• India
• Philippines
• Belgium
• Indonesia
• Russia
• Brazil
• Iran
• Spain
• Canada
• Iraq
• United Kingdom
• Chile
• Italy
• Colombia
• Mexico
• France
• Netherlands

This article is an adaptation of

This article is an adaptation of http://www.dha.gov.za/index.php/statements-speeches/1382-government-issues-a-revised-list-of-high-risk-countries.